Disney’s Pocahontas Taught Us Fundamental Lessons In “Colors of the Wind”

I was on a friend’s page and stumbled across an old favorite Disney princess. I took a trip down memory lane for a few minutes and re-watched the masterpiece that is, “Colors of the Wind.”

poca

Ever since I was a child this movie has always resonated with me. This song in particular has given me chills down my back every time I watch the movie, I know it word for word. How can a movie made 20 years ago STILL have this affect on me?

Damn. Disney is THAT good.

I mean, sure they are. But I think there is more at work here. There are a few factors.

Illustrating a Fundamental Piece of History

pocah
Pocahontas also known as Rebecca Rolfe

Disney was able to retell a kid-friendly adaptation of what transpired when Englishmen made it to Werowocomoco, Virginia now known as Jamestown. Let’s not forget, Pocahontas was a real person, after all, although her actual story was a little different than the infamous cartoon. Nevertheless, it gave us millennials something to connect to. Pocahontas was brave and selfless and it showed in the oral stories that have survived for 400 years.

“Colors of the Wind” Is About Acceptance

poca dis
Fan Art of the Disney movie, Pocahontas

The complexity of the Native American story was touched upon in some of the lyrics in the song.

“But still I cannot see, if the savage one is me, how can there be so much that you don’t know?”

This song gives me chills down my spine because it tells the truth. Ignorance and greed seem to be a constant theme in humanity. In this song, she points it out, not only for John, but for the viewers.

“You think the only people who are people, are the people who look and think like you. But if you walk the footsteps of a stranger, you’ll learn things you never knew you never knew.”

It’s an uncomfortable topic because the song addresses topics that people think but avoid discussing 20 years ago, and even to this very day. Because just like politics, people can get ugly about social issues.

“We are all connected to each-other, in a circle, in a hoop that never ends.”

It taught us youngsters to accept our differences, colors, cultures and be happy we are all on this ball of dirt together. I wonder if Disney knew their movies would influence how accepting millennials are compared to their counterparts?

This song is still relevant today… it’s been 20 years…let that sink in for a moment.

Pocahontas Made Us Hippies

poca forest

Because of Pocahontas, I don’t litter. I care about the earth and our carbon footprint. I recycle. I respect spiders (as long as they’re not in my house).  I am a tree-hugger. Millennials tend to be more conscious of how they treat the earth and we are really worried about climate change. Although I won’t be cuddling bears anytime soon, I do realize the importance of being good to the earth and how it rewards us.

“But I know every rock-and-tree-and-creature has a life, has a spirit, has a name”

There is more to life than money and material things. I realize although money helps, the experiences I share with people I care about are the most important to me. There’s nothing like going to the beach in the middle of the night, digging your toes in the sand, laying back and star-gazing into the universe. Taking in more moments like that, will quickly make you realize just how small you are in a world that’s bigger than you.

willow

“Come taste the sun-sweet berries of the earth. Come roll in all the riches, all around you, and for once, never wonder what their worth.”

You can never understand how vast or deep the earth goes and you can never own it all. We really should take the time to appreciate it’s beauty in all it’s complexity and just be happy we are here to witness it. OK, there goes my inner-hippie escaping…thanks Pocahontas.

“You can own the earth and still, all you’ll own is earth until…you can paint with all the colors of the wind.”

The Epic Love Story

john.gif
John Smith & Pocahontas

Can we just take a moment to reminisce on their love story?

Disney could have saved us on this one. Like, seriously. I know he died in real life and they weren’t together but geez, it is Disney..they stretched the truth already. They should have lived happily ever after.

duh
Duh.

Anyways, I digress. Sometimes, I think the answers to life’s most complicated questions are in a Disney movie.

Want more posts like this? Click here for the latest Movie Review.

Leave a Reply

