Movie Review: Split (No Spoilers)

After a long, hectic week of school-work, I decided to take a much needed break and decided to go to the movies. I don’t find myself heading to the movies unless a really good movie catches my eye, and this one did.

split-movie-review

I have been keeping my radar on “Split.” I was curious about this film because it was created by M. Knight Shyamalan, the creator of the TV-Series, “Wayward Pines”, “Signs” and “The Sixth Sense.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I was a major fan of all of these works so I just knew this one would be good. The trailer literally blew my mind.

The writing on this movie was of epic proportions. The minute I thought I figured out the plot of the movie, I was wrong. The character profiles were deep and detailed enough to continue for a few movies, if needed. Split keeps you on the edge of your seat and consistently guessing. I was not sure whether or not I was watching a super-natural movie or a thriller and I didn’t get the answer until the very end.

james
James McAvoy playing Dennis, in Split

James McAvoy, did an amazing job playing such a complex character, in which he played Kevin, a man harboring 23 different personalities. In every scene he played, there was so much intensity behind each of the characters.  The two shining stars in this film were he and the female lead, Anya Taylor-Joy. James’ acting was chilling to the core, it really saida lot about his acting abilities.

The movie also shines a light on the advancement in psychological research, and just how much we do not know about the brain. A few ‘fun’ examples of what the brain is actually possible of were demonstrated in the film.

The movie left me with questions so I have a feeling we should expect a sequel. I must admit, the movie did also make me more aware of my surroundings when I’m getting into my car, because booooy, I would hate to be any of those girls.

cry

Split was pure “savage” in writing, intensity, and acting. I have not seen a great scary movie in a very long time, and this one fit the bill.

If you have not already, I urge you to see it.

One thought on “Movie Review: Split (No Spoilers)”

Leave a Reply

