Who is Desir?

Earlier this week, being in the right place at the right time really resonated with me. It is only the second week of school and at the forefront of my mind, is the idea:

I must secure an internship asap.

intern

I have been editing my resume, creating cover letters, visiting the Career Services center for advice, and I even created a Job & Internship portfolio to organize my achievements, paperwork but most importantly, to salvage my sanity.

However, I am a firm believer of “speak it into existence,” or if you’re into the universe, yoga and stuff like the Law of Attraction you may take a different approach, “Thoughts become things”. Whatever it may be… it happened.

law-of-attraction

On my way to the school library, I ran into Jean-Desir Fils, an entrepreneur on the move. He has two successful companies thus far, and is working on his third, WhoIsDesir Lifestyle Connoisseur. It is a site dedicated to everything business-related directed primarily geared towards millennials.

 

jean
“Millennials are not lazy, we are just misunderstood.” Jean-Desir Fils

“My vision for the website primarily is to have a place for millennials to showcase their hard-work and dedication to being entrepreneurs. Many millennials are going into business and are striving for the sky in relation to goal-setting, and although there are a lot of perks, like the fashion, the travel, and the events, they have an opportunity to also demonstrate their abilities and mindset. Millennials are not lazy, we are just misunderstood.”

At WhoIsDesir, millennials’ business concepts can be understood and also inspire.

WhoIsDesir will launching the brand on March 4, 2017, in the Miami Ironside District. The theme of the event will be celebrating  “Creative Entrepreneurial Women,” where the achievements of various young women will be highlighted, as well as guest speakers and talents.

launch

Click here to purchase tickets to this event.

I’m all for this event because I have always been into self-empowerment and I’m a woman. Some may think it’s not that serious but it is, women can be hard on themselves. In the arena of business, it tends to be cut-throat and male dominated as well. It’s nice to see a light shed on some of the local women making a name for themselves in the industry.

I’m also excited to see what PR opportunities I will encounter during the internship, the industry knowledge I’ll learn from working with WhoIsDesir, and also the business expertise I can pick up for my own career goals.

2017 is off to a great start!

 

Leave a Reply

