First Impressions

Ah, yes, the first week of mayhem. The week where waking up in the wee hours of the morning and grabbing a french vanilla swirl latte from “Dunkin’ Donuts” is a must before you make the laborious, traffic-ridden trek to school.

mayhem

Although I am excited to learn brand-new ideas and concepts that will take me one step closer to my my career-path in life, I’ll go on a whim and admit that I’m not looking forward to sleepless nights again.

im-tired

What makes it all worthwhile, at least this semester, is that I am taking Multimedia Production. Over the break, I consistently played with the idea of launching a blog. I’ve thought it over so much, I had a name picked out, different topics lined up, and even videos I had previously edited!  My problem was I had too many ideas and I wasn’t quite sure how to execute them and with what tools.

Then…a sign appeared from the heavens.

thoughts
“God, I knew that was You!”

I decided to take this class with Jay Sandhouse, the best decision I have made this semester. If you are an FIU Communications student, I urge you to take him! The very first day, I knew I was in good hands.

First of all, he is hilarious. Now, I’m not a big fan of sarcasm because most people who use sarcasm just turn out to be mean, and then like to add the line, “I was being sarcastic”. But occasionally, I run into someone who is actually funny-sarcastic. His kind of ‘funny’ would be similar to that of Chandler Bing–one of my favorite on-screen characters–on the sitcom,”Friends”. He also is very passionate about multimedia and his skill set, so I know I can learn a lot from him.

Evil Eye Baby.gifHe does not follow the same, boring syllabus-textbook-note-exam procedure like the average professor. Many times as a student, I’ve run into teachers who really operate as though they are just collecting a paycheck, or give students the ‘evil-eye’ when they ask a question. In my collegiate experience, there are only a handful of teachers that want you to have an actual life-learning experience, Sandhouse is one of those professors.

I believe as I take the course with Sandhouse, I will be push myself to create my very best. I have been dying to get my hands on software like Photoshop and Adobe Creative Cloud, and I’ll have the opportunity to familiarize myself with them. I wouldn’t be surprised if I pick up a few extra tidbits of knowledge here and there since he has such an extensive resume. I can’t wait to see what my creative voice looks like and to see how much my blog will develop!

kanye
“I’mma let you finish Willa, but I have the most creative voice of all time!”-Kanye West

We will see, Kanye…we will see.

2 thoughts on “First Impressions”

  1. Hey Willa! Excited to hear from you regarding your new growth! Keep pushing toward your dreams! Love this First Impressions piece or is column the correct the wording? Anyhow congrats on your new beginnings!

    Like

Leave a Reply

